Piece by Bloody Piece

The candle wanes

Adam Ray Cronk
The Lark Publication

--

Photo by Nav Rashmi Kalsi on Unsplash

My condolences cast aside
no solace for you or I
in a time where we might find
no use for reason or rhyme
for in the game we play
not unlike charades
It’s futile for me to say
I’d rather have you stay
The light has rather waned
Life force is running low
I hate to see it go
that thieving undertow
The puzzle rent to show
piece by bloody piece
that when your gaze does meet
you cease to draw the beat
yet, in the end, we plead
Give way and then concede
grasp not for your contempt
and behold the firmament

© Adam Ray Cronk 2023

--

--

Adam Ray Cronk
The Lark Publication

Poet & short story writer, lover of eldritch horror and anything Poe or Lovecraft | My writing ebbs and flows, from dark to light and back again.