FICTION | YOUNG ADULT | SCIENCE FICTION

Police Interference and False Arrest

Azulians Among Us — Chapter 37

Robert G. Longpré [he / him]
The Lark Publication
6 min readAug 30, 2023

--

Photo by Pavol Duracka on Unsplash

The well-laid plans for excluding Dev from their following remarks and answers to the host’s pre-determined questions were abandoned. Both candidates were angry in their attacks against the statements made by Dev. Threats of lawsuits for defamation were followed by protestations of innocence.

The moderator was unable to regain control of the scene for quite some time. As soon as some sort of pause was obtained the moderator, Bill Danson posed his first question to the Conservative People’s Party candidate, a question about economic policy.

“Bill, before I can answer your excellent question, I must ask that you remove Mr. Steck from the debate. The insults and the libelous slander cannot be tolerated in such an important forum as this. If you will not remove him, both my esteemed opponent and I will remove ourselves from this debate.”

“Mr. Trout, this is beyond my capacity as a moderator, as you well know.”

“Then, kind sir. I will remove myself from this travesty.”

“I am in full agreement with Mr. Trout,” announced the second candidate, Mr. Conrad. “Either Steck goes, or I go.”

--

--

Robert G. Longpré [he / him]
The Lark Publication

Top Writer: Serial Fiction, Poetry, and Jungian Psychology - Canadian author & advocate. Travelling pilgrim. Retired educator & psychotherapist. BIPOC he/him.