Power Plant

Poetry

G.R. MELVIN
The Lark Publication
1 min readMar 27, 2022

--

https://www.flickr.com/photos/47064565@N08/6213918529/in/dateposted-ff/ photo-mine

“Way over yonder in a minor key, Ain’t nobody that can sing like me.”
-Woody Guthrie

“I find it (science) analytic, pretentious, superficial, largely because it does not address itself to dreams, chance, laughter, feelings, or paradox…all the things I love the most.”
— LUIS BUNUEL, Surrealist Filmmaker / PHOTO: G.R. MELVIN

I’ll swear I’ll answer
To some other
Gruesome monster
Than me,
and my gal,
Higher powers,
Et al
In fact, I’ll face up
Soon as the sun’s up

I said I’d sing
For you some morning
Well We’ll wait when we’re nearer
Near closer your ear
I’ll sing out without warning
It’ll be a bit absurd
I’ll hack into just-newest birdsong
I will await re-entry then
I pipe up then
(you can see his breath as he puffs power-plant dawn)
Down, sheets down

“The cold front couldn’t stay out front still/
I guess you can rescue
family plants being killed/
Button top buttons!
And cheat out the chill.”

--

--

G.R. MELVIN
The Lark Publication

“science of truth isn’t my strong suit. But I can watch from a garage roof; take semi evaluative notes, & make up semi reflective reports, & fake some control”