Rapport

A poem by Dash MacIntyre about growing old.

Dash MacIntyre
The Lark Publication
1 min readAug 19, 2021

--

Photo by JD Mason

The old man got in the cab slowly outside the hospital
helped by a nurse into the passenger seat
in which he strategically fell and lifted his legs up inside
while the nurse nestled his oxygen tank by his feet
and tucked in the catheter bag carefully
and then the ride got going
and he struck up light conversation with the driver
to get a bit familiar and build up some rapport
before the ride was up and he’d have to ask
the driver to help carry into his home
his bag of urine.

Follow me on Twitter @HalfwayPost, follow me on Post.News @DashMacIntyre, and follow me here on Medium for more of my comedy.

If you enjoy my work, click the green email button next to the green “Follow” button near the top right of this webpage to get my posts sent straight to your email, or you can follow my Substack The Halfway Café.

Check out my book “Satire In The Trump Years: The Best Of The Halfway Post,” available on Barnes & Noble and Amazon.

And check out my comedy portfolio or Dada news portfolio.

--

--

Dash MacIntyre
The Lark Publication

Comedian, political satirist, and poet. Created The Halfway Post. Check out my comedy book Satire In The Trump Years, and my poetry book Cabaret No Stare.