Ride With a Murderer

Fiction

Mehwish Amir Lakhani
The Lark Publication

--

Drowning in the hot summer sun, I was impatiently waiting for a taxi to get back home before my mother decides to blow up my phone with her continuous calls. It was mid-June, and the sun was a blazing fire, making everyone walking on the street drown in their sweat. I was in a hurry, wanting to get away from the sun as soon as possible as I hastily moved my legs. A matte black car finally stopped in front of me, but due to my restless state, I instantly sat inside without noticing the lack of a taxi sign nor the creepy nail scratches dented on the door as if it had been attacked by a wild animal, giving it a scary vibe. Before sitting, I didn’t even pay any heed to the driver which I later got to know was the biggest mistake of my life.

Just as I gave the address to the driver, the car zoomed off out of the road. However, the comfy leather seats were the opposite of how the outside looked.

As I was sitting relaxed, finally able to feel the coolness coming from the air-conditioner, I accidentally made eye contact with the driver whose eyes were as black as night with no speck of white in them, causing me to jump in fright. My blood ran cold, and my eyes were ready to pop out of my sockets while my brain went into a state of paranoia.

It took me some time to take in my surroundings and become aware of the brown-haired…

--

--

Mehwish Amir Lakhani
The Lark Publication

writer and a blogger. cherish to learn and explore new things. Love to travel around the world . Fitness, beauty, and food are my favorite topics .