Salt Sweat and Pepper

We walk and walk pant and talk

David Rudder
The Lark
2 min readFeb 28, 2022

--

Photograph by Meg Rudder

Salt sweat and pepper, things can only get better,
Though it’s all just a point of view,
In my attempt to reinvent destiny,
I try to invent something new.

Up and down hills, girls and boys in drills,
No gain without pain is the saying,
Salt, sweat, and then later the pepper,
My joints and the pain are fraying.

We walk and we walk, pant some and talk,
Then balk when the walking is over,
I’d rather recline on the sofa,
Then roll me over once more in the clover.

When the talking and walking and stalking is done,
We hop in the car for a drive,
Then check out the shops in staggers and hops,
Then depart in an attempt to survive.

Up and down streets girls and boys on the beats,
Dressed in apparel to please,
Whilst I stumble on, looking for, the John,
My legs now, worn down to the knees.

Then we lope along back to Gerringong,
With a whistle giggle and goodbye,
Margarita speaks in Italiano,
Then tootle too love, I must fly.

Back in my car, I sing tra-la, la,
And shuffle back south in the sun,
And stop for a tra-la, la top-up,
For sustenance, on the run.

Then it’s back home, and I use the phone,
To SMS a message,
And I hope she got back, from her Rome down the track,
And has a safe passage.

© David Rudder
2016

Thanks for reading.

Become a member
Read every story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium). Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll also get full access to every story on Medium.

--

--

David Rudder
The Lark

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.