Shadow-Boxing

Poetry

Connie Song
The Lark
1 min readAug 24, 2021

--

Sunlight cracks the dawn,

shadow-boxing with the shade,
as a flock of starlings pirouette in migratory formation,
while the meadowlark sings
its own concerto,
waking the morning,
unwinding the clock,
unraveling the drifting brain fog,
gyrating a new day into motion.

For a few moments,
the sun’s duet with morning mist
paints the sidewalks
in shades of gold and grey.

But I’m not afraid of shadows.

You know why
the sun sets on you,
you know why
the fire burns,
when you’re lost,
will I find you
bursting through the light
playing with my mind?

When the night pricks
your soul
and you feel the silence of the cold,
you can
trace the sky
with your finger,
when shadows follow you,
and the darkness swallows you.

And when the dawn is breaking,
or whenever midnight calls,
when I’m lost
will you find me…
hidden in plain sight?

Will you find me
dancing on the brink of dawn
or boxing with my shadow?

© Connie Song 2021. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
The Lark

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.