She Shoots the Sea

Prose poem

Anugraha Benjamin
The Lark
1 min readJun 23, 2021

--

Photo by Ave Calvar on Unsplash

She shoots the sea, as I watch from a distance. Creating patterns in the sand as she’s trying to get that perfect picture. Saving the last ounces of warmth from the sunset, she feels so herself. Some nights, I manage to make her feel the same.

She says I’m the best thing to have happened to her as we’re driving back home, listening to our favorite songs. I wonder if I’m even halfway there to becoming my best self yet.

We argue over silly things and pretend we are angry at each other. I tickle her neck and she laughs and we hug right after. It’s the best kind of fight to have.

We drink some beers, get high and dance like madmen. We talk about changing the world and laugh until we cannot anymore. It’s fun to shake everything off for a while.

Then, when we’re tired, we sit on the balcony to smoke cigarettes and watch the stars. There’s silence everywhere and we can almost hear our heartbeats.

She looks at the sky and takes a puff, as I watch the stars twinkling in her eyes.

--

--