Shizuka

Sonnet III

Adam Ray Cronk
The Lark Publication

--

Photo by David Mark on Pixabay

River and stream carved out through my woodlands,
flowing back home to the salt of the sea;
carrying sparks and waves from beforehand,
littered with light and astonishing me;

Rapids roaring, sound off like a heartbeat,
echoing cadence in rhythmic fine-tune;
a strong reverb, tangible and concrete,
reflects your thoughts in the light of the moon;

The river she grows and sinks back below,
ebbing and flowing like breath from my lungs;
whispers in time had often told me so,
that we all change and have songs to be sung;

My river is kind, lives up to her name,
and today I found we’re one and the same.

--

--

Adam Ray Cronk
The Lark Publication

Poet & short story writer, lover of eldritch horror and anything Poe or Lovecraft | My writing ebbs and flows, from dark to light and back again.