Sometimes…

Prose

Anugraha Benjamin
The Lark
2 min readJun 30, 2021

--

I accidentally knocked a glass off the table today. It shattered into a million pieces. I’m clumsy sometimes or maybe it is an omen, about something bad that’s waiting to happen. I’ve been drinking too much lately. Ha! I’m kidding. I never drink too much, you know what I mean.

Sometimes, I get the chills in the night and when I wake up in the morning, I’m tired. Sometimes I just stare straight into the air conditioner to see how long I can hold without blinking. I talk to my dog during the day and sometimes even he walks away to indulge himself with his toys.

Sometimes, I find myself summoning all of the memories about someone in a moment. I’m feeling anxious about little things, like someone robbing my thoughts. I’m reading about crazy people like Syd Barrett and Kurt Cobain and D.B. Cooper. I’m not sure if there’s any inspiration there but it keeps me busy. Sometimes, a man can do anything to keep himself busy.

Sometimes, I’m worried wondering if we’ll ever be able to beat the problems that plague our society today, before I die. Like poverty, hunger, rape, child abuse. I try to be optimistic sometimes but then there’s always something going on in the news.

Sometimes, I feel responsible. Sometimes, I feel sad. And sometimes, when I’m numb, I say sometimes a lot.

Anugraha Benjamin

--

--