Soul

Poetry

Medrik Minassian
The Lark Publication
1 min readApr 26, 2022

--

Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

Show me those eyes, and I will tell you
About a world unknown to you,
A world full of pathways marked with thorns
A world where Autumn has gone
And Winter has dried Spring’s buds
Where Summer is never going to come.
Ah misery, misery, and misery
I wonder when did Heaven and Hell trade their seats
For nothing amazes the breathing heart to beat the drum of life.
Show me your soul
Oh, bright child of darkness,
The soul you find is hard to find.
Show me the soul that puzzles you with every breath.
If you find where it dwells, then bring it to me
For it will break in through the Winter’s cold
The Spring’s buds will blossom, and Summer will burn bright
Just like Rumi would have dreamt or Shakespeare put it in words
Yes, you heard it right, find that soul of yours!
Find it, my child, find the hidden everlasting cocoon
And let it march like a lion and soar like an eagle
For nothing crawls too long.
Let it flower through Spring, run naked through the Summer,
Sail over the waves of life
And make way through Autumn’s gold rush.
Let it blow into Winter’s cold and bring back the innocence of life.

--

--