Poetry Prompt

Surviving Loss

Can we Challenge “losing” through the art of survival and letting go?

NADINE H
The Lark Publication
3 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Sailing through life and surviving loss
Photo by François Genon on Unsplash

This piece was written following a poetry challenge prompt “What We Lose in Life” I received from Sheri Jacobs inspired by the poem by the late Elizabeth Bishop, The Art of Losing . This challenge got me thinking of the different ways we navigate loss, whether material or emotional loss. We all get attached to things we love, especially the things that make us happy and abundant. It is only natural for all living beings to feel connected and attached to people, pets, places, spaces, and things. While also I believe in the case of humans, good memories and staying youthful are a yearning that should keep us going. We are sentimental beings and life is not only a journey, it is a mystery, a power that we cannot control, which triggers different emotions and reactions of respectively dealing with loss. Hence, if we feel old, let us forget the illusion and stay youthful at heart, if we miss a loved one, let us understand that there is a collective energy of minds beyond this dimension, and I think writers would probably feel strongly about this.

And so we can all interpret loss from our own personal lense, and our survival modes will definitely vary. Without further ado, here is a creative poem that I wrote to try and tackle one of…

--

--

NADINE H
The Lark Publication

I love words, writing, literature, poetry and art. I write short poems about anything that triggers my passion. My blogs: viewsandreviews.me & soulofagypsy.me