Symphony of Waters and Colors

Happy New Year 🥳

Iyere Perpetual
The Lark
3 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Photo by KOBU Agency on Unsplash

I walked into a quiet atmosphere brimming with bright light that stung my eyes. There was no one there but me.

I tried to navigate through the bright light but it felt like I was in a maze.

Then I saw them or rather, they just appeared; all three of them like sticks.

The bright light became a bubbling spiral of colors, weaving in and out of each other in a perfect symphony.

Then I began to hear it, the steady but slow beat of a talking drum; it seemed as though it was talking. The sticks began a dance, one unlike any I have ever seen before.

Their thin bodies meta morphed into thin hands and scrawny heads wearing headgear. Their waist was covered with a colorful hue of yellowish-green and there were barely any legs.

My voice stuck in my throat as they bobbed to the enchanting drum. I could feel my own body spiraling on its own. The wave of excitement lingered in my fingertips and toes.

Such captivating music I mused to myself.

Alas, I was yanked into the belly of the sea. No bright light, just my body sinking under murky waters. I could barely see a thing.

Again, I heard the drum, beating faster now and my heart was pounding against my rib cage.

"Help!"

I tried to scream but bubbles escaped my mouth.

My body felt numb. Oh, so numb that I couldn't feel myself.

"Dupe!"

I heard my name, it sounded like a whisper but it was my name alright.

I felt a nudge followed by another, but I couldn't bring myself to. Until my feet stung. My eyes flickered open for a bit, my mother was hovering over me.

The water began to pull me again. I thought I already died before.

I began to feel a little at ease as the water pulled me. There was no use fighting it, it was stronger than me.

I felt hands on my body but I couldn't open my eyes. Then my mouth was plopped open and something was stuffed in. There was no taste at first but the acidic smell made me cough.

The water released me, ebbing toward the surface. Someone waved me goodbye from the depths of the murky waters. I couldn't identify them.

Another sting on my cheek and my eyes plopped open. I choked on my breath and vomited a large chunk of onions.

I was sweating profusely but my mother's gentle smile and teary eyes gave me a sense of calm.

"They will not take you. The night will not swallow you whole," she whispered into my ears as a nurse busied herself fixing an IV on my hand.

"Madam this is high fever. She'll be fine in a few days," the nurse told my mother who was already crying. "She'll be fine."

"The night will not take you whole!" my mother wept.

Then I knew, I wanted to return to the dance and join them but I loathed the waters. I would never go back there.

"They won't take this one from me!" My mother said and I resolved in my heart that I wouldn't leave her alone.

--

--

Iyere Perpetual
The Lark
Writer for

Poet, Freelancer, Efficient Orator, Content Writer and Storyteller