Thank You

A poem to my black son-in-law

Theodore McDowell
The Lark Publication

--

Photo by Unseen Histories on Unsplash

My parents never had to give me “the talk”
about traffic stops.
I’ve never been afraid to jog alone
In my neighborhood.
I’ve never had to beg for air.
I’ve never trembled
at the trauma in my heritage,
the shadow of a black man
hanging from a branch
like strange fruit.
I’ve never endured
racial slurs shouted
from pickup trucks
with Confederate flags
and gun racks in the back.

Am I responsible for the sins
of my fathers?
We’ve appropriated your gospels,
Jazz grooves and rap anger,
sold you on a slave block,
branded you as our property,
bloodied your back
with a bullwhip,
turned firehoses and dogs
on your freedom fighters,
denied your right to vote,
considered you three-fifths of a man,
swindled you with five acres
and a mule,
barred you from schools,
spit in your face,
kept you segregated
from water fountains
and hidden in jails.

--

--

Theodore McDowell
The Lark Publication

Searching for grace in my writing to transform the pain of trauma and suffering into hope.