POETRY

Thanksgiving For Fall

A poem

--

Photo: Sharing Words

Color finally arrives on my silver birch tree
yet leaves are still to fall, floating,
as if the whistling wind were waves

Birds are feeding as I enter the gates, magical
like the butterflies of summer, flitting
all critters are welcome here for sure

When the leaves fall I never sweep them away
next year’s soil and home for hibernating bees
it is nature’s way, nothing is alone

Listening to the songs of trees heals my soul
soil in my hands gives health to my body
the damp, earthy scent of soil is home

Learned by watching as a child, caring, planting
but prefer jostling blooms to straight lines
the less we turn the earth more carbon is kept

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
The Lark Publication

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.