The Battle

Poetry

Mike Vinson
The Lark Publication
3 min readJul 22, 2024

--

Artwork by Mike Vinson

There deep down in the abyss
lies those demons that's stronger and harder to resist
hold on to your rosary's tight I insist
you with me or against me, because damn it, I'm pissed
that's the kind of disrespect that I can't dismiss
all seven of you are snakes I can hear your hiss
so call your army, you're target I won't miss
but I can guarantee I won't be smiling like me when I ball my fists close my eyes and reminisce

Pride #1 Raphael

I know this battle will shake the foundation of creation
leaving it with scars great bruises and abrasions
but I'm coming for you all in time with patience
you're a weak demon showing so much desperation
your arrogance in vanity is only a manipulation
I don't need Raphael and this is my revelation

Greed #2 Michael

Now greed haha this is one for me
when I was out making money in them streets
slinging blow got a pocket full of money and I still felt broke
an empty hole in my chest and a lump in my throat
head-filled with frustration
greed my motivation, a silver tongue devil with the power of persuasion
but I'm not greedy anymore... okay maybe an occasion
I am Michael the Ark and you're facing annihilation

Wrath #3 Barachiel

so let me guess you send wrath next with this blaze and fury
but my anger Burns hotter you can't even get to me
consuming all in his path hell don't make me laugh
Barachiel set this one out and now you will feel my wrath

Lust #4 Uriel

Lust can take your mind off who to trust
singing a song like a siren to your brain bust
you'll be tripping and thinking that you're on angel dust
but all along you repulse me and leave me filled with distrust and disgust

whether I'm free or my shackles are covered in rust
Uriel can stay home because I'll blow up and leave you crushed
like dust under my foot as the anger gives me a rush

Gluttony #6 Selaphiel

gluttony's next not far from greed
it's like an unsustainable hunger that'll bring you to your knees
no bounds for your consumption new meaning to dysfunction
you arrogant bastard that's no presumption
I'm a whole different breed no Selaphiel need
just me filled with gumption

Sloth #7 Gabriel

Gabriel can relax as I take on sloth
you take my kindness for weakness like I'm supposed to be soft
I don't need Gabriel to give your lazy ass a toss so there's no need to floss
about who's the Boss no matter the cost
until I take Lucifer and nail him to a cross- and beat the hell out of him like I'm drunk popping steroids playing lacrosse
so the battle raged for days and days
each blow echoed against an opposing foe
one by one they fell none standing except the savors of souls
and quietness and ease floated through the cosmos

Mike Vinson

--

--

Mike Vinson
The Lark Publication

My name is Mike Vinson and I am a Taurus who loves to write poetry, scripts and music. I am also an actor and producer with 25 movies under my belt .