The Beach

A poem

Paul Douglas
The Lark
Published in
1 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Photo by Bob Oh on Unsplash

Walking across the hot sand
Bare feet pleasantly warm
Watching boats bob gently in the blue
Waters swaying in the deep beyond

Shoulders turning an angry red
Hair a lighter shade of blonde
Hands clasped in my beautiful wife’s
As we walk along the strand

Beachballs flit from child to child
Laughter with delight in bright eyes
The gentle breeze playing along
Blowing towels from dripping hands

Parents covered up in the sand
Kids building sandcastles too close
The gentle waves running up the beach
Tossing them all aside

When nighttime comes around
We repair to Alfresco dine
With the warm breeze and sea view
And a glass of nice chilled wine

These are the days I love the most
Sharing them with my sweet wife
It fills my heart with warmth and joy
Sharing memories and loving life

--

--

Paul Douglas
The Lark

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.