The Black Sheep Revelation

A poem about the weight of being different

GOLDEN WRITER
The Lark Publication
2 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Photo by Jose Francisco Morales on Unsplash

"Black Sheep Revelation" explores the profound journey of an individual ostracized for their uniqueness. Through introspection and philosophical insights, the speaker navigates the challenges of societal expectations and the transformative power of embracing one’s true self. Discover how the speaker’s defiance against conformity leads to self-realization and empowerment.

Being different is a curse, I feel like an outcast. Their treatment towards me is different from the rest.
Their dislike of me, they try not to contrast,
For now, I’m not disillusioned. In their world, I’m a pest.

I’m labeled as the black sheep because I don’t follow the herd,
For this action, I’m ostracized by my peers.
But, the thought of following mindlessly, seems absurd,
But I assume the others are comfortable to subdue their uniqueness to cohere.

I have tried to fit in, and the more I try, the worse it becomes,
For such a behavior is pathetic and weak.
Thus, a period of introspective reflection I carried out, in order, to fathom,
Why I would suppress my uniqueness rather than let it speak?

My ideal character is an embodiment of Ayn Rand's philosophy,
This, I believe, is my way to becoming a person of value, not only success, as Einstein said.
This, I know, due to my hard work, will become a self-fulling prophecy,
And those who shunned me for my uniqueness, after such a self-transformation,
their limited mind wouldn’t be able to comprehend.

If "Black Sheep Revelation" resonated with you, share your thoughts and experiences in the comments below. Don’t forget to follow for more content that challenges societal norms and celebrates individuality. Let’s build a community that values uniqueness and personal growth.

--

--

GOLDEN WRITER
The Lark Publication

I am a Golden Writer. I write to share what I've learned and also to challenge dogmatic thinking.