The Heat of the Summer

A short poem

Grant Fuerstenau
The Lark Publication
1 min readJun 3, 2021

--

Photo by José Ignacio Pompé from Unsplash

I wipe the sweat from my brow
As I gaze past the horizon,
Feeling the sand beneath my feet.

The air is dry
And my mind is racing,
My logical thought leaves me all on the same beat.

I am lost in the desert
With no one around,
I am once again wandering in this solitary, blistering heat.

As I contemplate my life
Since it has surely concluded,
I am forced to assess whether I deem it complete.

Though I have come to the realization
That satisfied I am not,
I feel my toes touch warm concrete.

As I continue to ponder
I am jolted to life by a voice,
I was once again just daydreaming in my summertime seat.

Grant Fuerstenau is a Medical Student at the University of Louisville School of Medicine and the editor of The Biographical Historian.

--

--

Grant Fuerstenau
The Lark Publication

Resident Physician | Medicine, Science, History, Geography, and Sports | Editor of The Biographical Historian