The Lane at Dawn

Sean Jones
The Lark
Published in
1 min readJul 7, 2021
Sean Jones, 2021

A sliver of moon floats above the darkened
massif. Light, reflected through darkness warns
of coming day. A hawk screeches out good
morning. Or is it telling me to stay away?
A symphony of cheeps and squeaks tells of
unseen hundreds of feathered friends beginning
the labors of their day.

Skeletal giants loom over
the shattered detritus of those that have fallen.
They linger on, branches of decay reaching
skyward through lying foliage.

Color deepens as light intensifies. A cool breeze
belies the heat the sun will bring. An owl calls out,
announcing the end of her nightly hunt. My father’s
dog wanders about, aware of my standing, listening.
She is at ease with my pause. When I turn for home,
leaving this small forest, she will lead the way on a path
I have forever known.

© Sean C. Jones, 2021

--

--

Sean Jones
The Lark

I’m a retired Soldier, linguist, and father of a disabled child and husband of a disabled wife. I have an MBA from the University of Maryland