The Living Cadaver

Ausubel Rafael
The Lark
Published in
1 min readOct 16, 2021
Picture taken by author

I listen to Yiruma to mute the screaming of these rails.
It is October, amore, your favorite season. Yes, the once green leaves are crayoned orange and red.

The breeze is cozy and chilling like the past. The sun warms up the blue hearts. Love appears to hug not just the limping ducks, but lovers holding hot chocolate.

A sea of people continues to head toward the same imposed needs and desires while mind grabs you by those pale ankles.
The world seems to change with every heartbeat, but we haven’t, right Hermosa?

They told me that you are two oceans away, but no worries, I didn’t share our secret; That we just look inside our chests to find each other. Yes corazón, your belly is held in the morning by another mate’s arms. The birds that dance with you in the afternoon curse me at night. I can endure it, I can resist feeling these worms eating my soul. But forgetting you? That would be abandoning the love we didn’t burn.

--

--

Ausubel Rafael
The Lark

I am a poet, photographer and bio-ethicist concerned about humanity and pursuing his own redemption. Book: https://www.amazon.com/Pendejo-Loves-Spanish-Ausubel