The Monster Under the Bed

Our Fears and Anxieties

Sannan A.
The Lark Publication
2 min readJan 23, 2023

--

Photo by Marloes Hilckmann on Unsplash

As I lay in bed at night, with the soft glow of the moon shining through the window, I couldn’t help but think of the monsters that lurked beneath me.

Oh, how I loathed those fiends, with their sharp claws and gnashing teeth. They seemed to revel in the darkness, waiting for the perfect moment to strike.

But alas, I am not one to simply lay down and take it. I, like many before me, have decided to take a stand against these beasts.

And so, I began my research.

I scoured ancient texts and spoke with wise men and women of all ages. And what I discovered, dear reader was that the monsters under the bed are not so different from ourselves.

You see, the monsters are simply a manifestation of our deepest fears and anxieties. They are the embodiment of the things we cannot control or understand.

And so, I came to realize that in order to defeat these monsters, one must first confront one’s own fears.

With this newfound knowledge, I set out to vanquish the monsters once and for all.

I armed myself with courage and determination, and with each passing night, I inched closer and closer to victory. And finally, the day came when I stood victorious, the monsters vanquished, and my bed free from the terrors that once plagued it.

Photo by Adam Flockemann on Unsplash

But the battle is never truly won.

For as long as we have fears and anxieties, there will always be monsters lurking beneath our beds. But remember, with courage and determination, we can conquer even the darkest of beasts.

We must continue to face our fears, confront them head-on, and never give up.

For in the end, it is not the monsters under the bed that we should fear, but our own ability to overcome them.

--

--

Sannan A.
The Lark Publication

College Student | Likes to Write Fiction & Non-Fiction | Night Writer