The Other Shore

Of our emotions

David Rudder
The Lark
1 min readJun 14, 2024

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Standing on the other shore
I feel you’re out of reach
Yet I can see you standing there
Alone on the beach.

It may be metaphoric
The strange way that we rise
Up from yesterday’s ashes
And cede each other’s sighs.

Through thick and thin and on a whim
Our souls both seek succour
To lean against and hold us up
New strength in words we utter.

With your quiver and bow
Your arrows hit the mark
And deep within I feel
Your arrow splits my heart.

On my shore, I look for more
As I teeter to your call
And dream of our last incarnation
When you and I were all.

Together we fight the fragile light
And maintain a sacred core
Our liaison lies deep within our souls
As we reach for more.

I watch and wait, and listen
To the echoes on the shore
Whether we are near or far
We’re near heaven’s door.

It’s far too deep to step around
And vaster than the oceans
That lies seen in between
The other shore of our emotions.

© David Rudder 2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
The Lark

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.