The Spirit of Valentine

A poem

Tom Kane
The Lark
1 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

A familiar brook babbles by weathered stones,
stirring half-remembered dreams.
Sun-kissed hair, glints of gold,
now silver threads glitter in the dappled light.

Her eyes find mine, piercing, knowing.
Has she sensed my presence after all this time?
I reach out, yearning to brush her delicate cheek,
only to grasp at empty air.

The breeze carries the ghost of long-ago laughter
two lovers strolling this forest path hand-in-hand.
I catch a glimpse of myself in her memories,
forever young, untouched by time’s passing.

While her face reflects the seasons gone by,
within her eyes, my image stays preserved.
Neither years apart nor death’s veil
can dim our bond,
our hearts in tandem still.

She sees me here among the trees,
feels me near,
my spirit, her loyal soldier, watching over always.
No need for words between kindred souls,
our love endures beyond life’s boundaries.

--

--

Tom Kane
The Lark

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium