The Unexpected Visitor

An emotional short fictional story about truth and courage

Denise Larkin, BA (Hons)
The Lark Publication
5 min readOct 21, 2020

--

Photo by Jan Gemerle on Unsplash

Prompt — Have you ever had an unexpected visitor? If so, then write about an experience or a piece of fiction about your unexpected visitor. Did the person bring anguish to unrevealed memories? Try this prompt and let your creative mind flow with some fiction.

Here is a fictional short story about an unexpected visitor with a twist.

My hands molded the dough. Flour seeped into my fingernails as I turned the dough over. I placed the soft succulent mixture into a tin and put it into the oven before rinsing my hands under warm running water, drying them quickly on a towel.

The doorbell chimed loudly during my Friday evening of baking. I drank the rest of the red wine from my glass and quickly wiped down the grey marble worktop cleaning the specs of flour off with a damp cloth. The trilling of the doorbell made me jump as my ginger head hit the saucepans hanging from the canopy.

When I opened the front door, I panicked. I saw a face I thought I would never see again. It was my older sister, Mary. I stumbled unexpectedly. The dyed blonde streaks of hair, podgy overweight shabby body wreaked. She stood there with a wide grin on her face as I covered my nose with my hand. I noticed her scruffy, torn, blue duffle…

--

--

Denise Larkin, BA (Hons)
The Lark Publication

Mastodon: @dlarkin121@me.dm An author/writer of fiction novels and poetry living in London writing about her experiences on Medium. dlarkin121@gmail.com