POETRY

The Vicious Cycle of Not Finding

What lingers is the memory of how to let go

Gracie Tobing
The Lark

--

Photo by Ismael Sánchez from Pexel

Lulled in those deceitful nights
Countless hours of enslaving to vanity
Trapped in the embrace of a vicious cycle of bitterness
from not finding
Wandering lust
Obsessed for affection
Craving warm skin
Demanding gentle touch
Swaying my waist from one cold arm
to another elusive arm

Toxic with the missed perception I created
Hallucinate for something real
Condemn the series of rejection
Voiceless weeping of remorse
Am I not worthy to keep

Weary in the native land
To the foreign land, I step my foot
It's dark yet it's adventurous
Denying of seeking
My sense of hunt navigates faster than Google map
Sniff the flesh of newness smiling face
Flirt over vulnerable souls to be rescued
The discovery never dull
As charming as the sunset over the canals in Amsterdam
There goes the hope of love ever after
into a one-night charm

What lingers is the memory of the vague scene
Drew’s back as he drove his motorbike away after sunset
The back head of Collin as we departed at the fast food
restaurant parking lot
Hank’s back as he walks away from my guest house room patio

What lingers is the memory of how to let go
The memory of emptiness stuck
in pages after pages of my journal

Names that appear are fiction, but the story …

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Grace Tobing.

--

--

Gracie Tobing
The Lark

a free spirit, disciple of experiences, ashtanga student, former corporate person.