The War Has Just Begun

Poetry

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication
Apr 25, 2023

--

Photo by British Library on Unsplash

I lost my baton
I lost the race and
Ah! Her face,
victory glazed
I step aside,
stood silent for a while
my face flushed, adrenaline rushed
ashamed I cried, with the shimmer of rain

and then,
called her name aloud, clear and loud
Brace yourself
Buckle your belt
Spike your sole
Armour your torso
Sautée yourself in victory rhymes
I will come bare,
Please don't mind

A tough fight awaits
Tomorrow is another day
Ohh my foe!
The war has just begun
Losers don’t lose their way,
neither their sight, dear friend
its just a matter of time,
you will know the outcome
who lost who won the game!

--

--

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication

Writing is a passion for me and especially poetry, have already published two books , My Pink bougainvilleas and Wren blooms, read them and love them!