Their Expectations — Not My Reality

A poem that examines expectations

GOLDEN WRITER
The Lark Publication
1 min readMay 16, 2024

--

Photo by Jan Tinneberg on Unsplash

They say they have expectations,
I didn’t say I was going to live up to them.
They’re basking in their own deception,
Viewing me as their precious Jem.

It’s my life and I’ll live it my way,
Such an attitude will upset others, but I care less.
If I live to please, I’ll stray,
And that’s not gonna happen, for that’s a life of stress.

Buddha informed us that expectation leads to suffering,
And I believe this to be true.
Although, their expectations can be smothering,
But to my convictions and principles, I’ll be glued.

Am I a failure in their eyes?
Is my worth dependent on their validation?
It's not, and free from their expectation I soar the skies.
But to do that, I have to, with such people, detach all affiliations.

Their expectations aren’t my reality,
Nor their definition of success is mine.

For I’m adamant in the belief of causality,

Thus, I know, free from their expectations, I’ll shine.

--

--

GOLDEN WRITER
The Lark Publication

I am a Golden Writer. I write to share what I've learned and also to challenge dogmatic thinking.