Thunder Knows My Weakness

Tanka poem

Indah Maulida
The Lark
Dec 1, 2023

--

Photo by Luka Vovk on Unsplash

As light comes faster
than the thunder, my instinct
to hide comes faster
than my wish to break through it
The thunder knows my weakness

Neither a runner
or a swimmer, I am just
a frightened being
here I am alone, lonely
wondering, will I be free?

Perhaps one day, or
once in a while, if any
crystal clear sky with
a soothing flow of river
I will not hide anymore.

© 2023 Indah Maulida

Hi, I’m Indah.

It was raining so hard outside when I wrote this poem. Then the thunder rumbled loudly. That’s when I was so scared and felt safe in my warm house. But how long I hide from it? It’s a big challenge for me… to step outside.

Thank you for reading this poem, readers and friends:)

--

--

Indah Maulida
The Lark

Gloom makes you bloom. Like a flower. | Writer. Poet. English Instructor. Dreamer. | Support me here https://ko-fi.com/indahmaulida