POETRY

Trespass

A poem

Christine Morris Ph.D.
The Lark

--

Photo by Hisu lee on Unsplash

Your hands went anywhere without consent
they traveled, guided by your mind
Sleeping, I could say no yes
half-waking, I felt your kiss

That kiss was my undoing, intoxicated as I was
by wine, but the quality of our mouths
doing what you began in reciprocity
spoke to forgotten yearning

I was celibate by choice; you knew but trespassed
how you dared I don’t know-the future days
no thought, but seducing
I could not move

I wanted, yet not, to stop you, we were friends
how to go on after this? So I kissed too
the way I used to kiss my lover
I still pay for your trespass

--

--

Christine Morris Ph.D.
The Lark

A life lived deliberately. Degrees earned. Experience. Poet, traveler, living with life limiting illness. ko-fi.com/SharingWords.