Understanding

Feelings

David Rudder
The Lark
2 min readAug 5, 2023

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Do I really understand
The way that others feel
Or am I kidding myself
With an introspective deal

Feelings below the peelings
Is the core of my emotions
What I feel, and think is real
And deeper than the oceans.

Some are kind others blind
And haunt me from the past
Hard to hide and to bide
Like lightning, they’re so fast.

They touch me where I’m vulnerable
Lift me up and let me down
Sometimes down in the dumps
Then others are like a clown.

They fill me up with fractiousness
And touch me where it hurts
Some are just too hot to hold
And heartache makes it worse.

They can be smooth sensations
I love it when they come
A sense of tenderness and warmth
I like others more than some.

In the night they creep like thieves
And lodge into my dreams
And solicit my sensibilities
That’s often how it seems.

My passion can be palpable
They’re for all to see
Or hidden in the shadows
Waiting to be free.

© David Rudder 2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.

--

--

David Rudder
The Lark

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.