Unspoken

Poetry

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication
2 min readFeb 5, 2024

--

Photo by Let's Go Together on Unsplash

Tonight as you out pour the bottle slowly;
into the glass, I feel
my bottled love escaping from it
and settling into your glass
and you sip it slowly all through the evening,
emptying into the night that was jam-packed!
Your roaring laughter rumbled the room,
filled with beautiful faces, who like stars gleam
and you like the huge sky embracing all;
as if they all belong to you
and yet, in between,
I feel your eyes sometimes, halt for me,
feather touch me, flirting with me,
undressing me with your eyes
and the naive me blushing like the red wine!
I had gathered strength to sail in your eyes,
poured my heart empty;
I knocked your heart and came back empty!
You had gulped me down,
without relishing my feelings for you;
without really travelling my heart,
like a milestone which was never meant to be a part of your destination
a lovely, small recess but not really in your itinerary.
I leave and come back, your heart was too crowded,
and I feel left out
I don’t like crowds,
I am bad at clearing bottlenecks
I am a loner
but never lonely
I know my path and I move on!
But the burnt butt of a cigarette
like the ashes of my heart sprinkled on the ground;
those flamed butts left in the ashtray
like embers that flame and
keep me alive and yet burn into oblivion.
I know not you, in your total form
but by your eyes;
as that soft breeze,
with the melody of psithurism
that kisses me and moves on!
My willow heart sways in your tune,
a lease of life spared for my heart;
my love an abstract painting
that only I understand
some destinations we never reach,
like you and me
and as you leave,
my empty heart tumbles
like those empty glasses on the floor;
tumbling for answers
and finally settles down!
I pick up your lip-kissed glass and
feel a kiss imprinted on me.
The crowds have moved out
and so did you and the night settled now,
it’s pin-drop silence and still,
I realise things better now;
my unspoken love; don’t need words to communicate
nor need destinations to reach;
they just travel solo the lonely paths like
the soft breeze that buss and moves on
without words to utter they silently echo our path!

--

--

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication

Writing is a passion for me and especially poetry, have already published two books , My Pink bougainvilleas and Wren blooms, read them and love them!