Change

A poem about change

Mike Vinson
The Lark Publication
3 min readJul 5, 2024

--

Artwork by Mike Vinson

Hey, what’s up, God? Can we talk for a minute
seem like trouble follows me because I'm always in it
I despise the true lies as I rise to no Surprise
like a Phoenix from the ashes and realize
I gained steps in my strides
nowhere to hide the pain to sustain at least I tried
to abide by my man's law but got tired
with a hate so great no mistake, I took what I could take
learn my lessons created my fate
letting that hate penetrate till it turned me into a madman, breaking bad and that's bad to break
see the streets recognize real just as they recognize fake-
two crackheads met and had themselves a baby with no guts to raise me
cast me to the side and wonder why I'm crazy
Mom was just as bad, never embraced me
let you do what you did, y'all, didn't deserve a baby
I didn’t ask to be born but y'all, made me
hustling at a young age yeah, y'all made me
learn to lie real good, yeah, y'all made me
I was meant for these streets even as a baby
I sold my soul to the devil and the price was cheap
you be surprised by what you sell when you need to eat
ready to creep got put a fool to sleep
O.G.s like me are obsolete
elite until I'm down in the street,
til someone returns the favor and I'm under a white sheet
toe tag but I just sow what I reap,
the devil waiting for me, when my heart hits that last beat
hell, you can't talk about what's right for me
sh#t you never was there to put up a fight for me -
pissed off I got a right to be, f#ck love
did y'all even ever like me?
I'm a product of a hooker and a deadbeat
but hell it made me harder than concrete
never weak, never meek go ahead, sneak a peek into the
wild world of Mike where it's all bleak
if there was no sadness in my story then it incomplete
but I'm damn sure don't get caught as I switch up technique
to complete whatever job I need to complete
Mom did that's when I was sleep I sleep, y'all created and
release the beast now I'm hiding in your backseat
full of deceit your mouth on repeat,
repeating what you hear like a parakeet,
I'd rather be a dying wolf than a healthy sheep
praise the Lord my soul to keep if I should die before I wake
let it be known, cut the head off the snake
my life is bleak but I'll lead till I bleed
and managed to chain that beast inside me
married living a different life is strange to me
met someone called God who's changing me

--

--

Mike Vinson
The Lark Publication

My name is Mike Vinson and I am a Taurus who loves to write poetry, scripts and music. I am also an actor and producer with 25 movies under my belt .