Walking Back Home

Poetry

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication
2 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Photo by Navi on Unsplash

What if, in the evening of my life,
ambiance of twilight,
and a chrysolite sky,
and the earthly earth mesmerized,
colors spread all across
yellow, orange, blue, and red,
and the obsidian, waning night, reluctant to decide
the dress code for the gloaming sky,
and into the confusion, of all of it,
the baby moon in alabaster white,
with a pearl-like tooth,
comes crawling in the vesper sky,
changing shapes, changing hues
sometimes full, sometimes sickle,
fidgeting her mind!
With a bib, bleached, sparkling white
around the nape,
dripping elixir
drooling eternity tells me nobody ever dies
and in the beauty of that night, she tells me
my time has arrived, asked me to move behind
and I realize I can walk through her tonight.
I finally decide
to leave my murky being and move up the stairs,
with my baby steps;
to kiss the baby moon,
bathe in the glitz and clean my aura,
be a moon, crystal clean, an empty page
today on this day, to leave this space,
far away from mortal eyes.
Though feet heavy with age
and chained with attachments
earth luring me with colors yellow, orange, blue, and red
and in all the mayhem I leave this earthy body,
so timid and scared,
shrouded in the darkness always;
sparkling my soul that day, to start a journey novel,
and from where I could not nor none
could ask me to come back
and in crystal white moonlight,
I walk back home,
beyond the wall, opaque
where nothingness prevails
and only silence speaks
with his mighty voice,
I could not see you bid me farewell
with your teary eyes!

--

--

Summi Sinha
The Lark Publication

Writing is a passion for me and especially poetry, have already published two books , My Pink bougainvilleas and Wren blooms, read them and love them!