POETRY

What Was the Title?

Luke DeLalio
The Lark Publication
Jul 27, 2021

--

photo by the author

I forget more and more
Or is it less and less?

Bills
Where my pens are
Where is my hat?
While talking on my phone I look everywhere
for my phone
Things I promised
Most of the needed groceries

Someday I won’t forget anything because I’ll forget forgetting

The nice ending: but I’ll never forget you

The true ending: I can’t forget the small thoughts that eat me from the inside out
Termites nesting in my self-esteem
The patterns of a life that hold me where I have never wanted to be
Boat anchors that still have plenty of scopes

Maybe: the hawsers will be cut in a memory care unit

More likely: I’ll forget how to speak yet remember how I used to make people laugh

--

--

Luke DeLalio
The Lark Publication

Artsie and loquacious, Luke hangs out at the intersections of humor and regret, ambition and ambivalence, please more wine and jeez I need to lose weight.