1. Money: I need the magic pill

Teresa Ruiz Decker
The last $20K
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2016

All the articles, all the podcasts, all the new budgeting spreadsheets and accounting systems. All the checking of balances. Calculating everything down to a cent. I spend a lot of time with you money.

I tell myself there is enough. I have enough. There are people who live on way less. We are definitely OK.

But I can’t shake the feeling of being poor.

Even with a modest savings and small investments tucked away I feel dead ass broke. There should be a pill previously poor people can take to make this anxiety go away. Some magic pill that assures you, you aren’t poor and you will never be poor again. But then again if I didn’t know what it was like to be broke I probably wouldn’t work as hard. Or so they say.

They also say as an entrepreneur… “sky’s the limit” you have the potential to make waaayyy more than you can to working a salaried job.

I really want this to be true. Really, really want this to be true. So I plan. And I research. And I learn. And read countless blogs on how to be an entrepreneur, how to live life on your terms and make money, how to pay off student debt, or how to invest, how to budget, how to buy a house, how to spend but not spend too much. How to save but not the point that you are miserable.

And I don’t feel any closer to dropping this weight of money worries off my back.

The student loan balance goes down. The savings goes up. But I could really use that damn pill.

--

--

Teresa Ruiz Decker
The last $20K

Marketing and communications consultant for social good. #DiversityandInclusion #HigherEd #EconomicEmpowerment http://teresaruizdecker.com