15. Raising the rent, again

How is anyone supposed to make it?

Teresa Ruiz Decker
The last $20K
Published in
1 min readJun 22, 2016

--

Last time it was $50, the time before that $100. This time the rent is increasing by $350. My head is spinning just thinking about it. I just don’t get it. How the hell is anyone supposed to make it in California? How can you have kids, pay your bills, pay off your student loans, save for a house and enjoy a life?

We did all the right things. Went to school. Got full-time jobs, even picked projects on the side to pay off student loans. We’re good citizens. We give back to our community. We help others. I just don’t get it.

But I don’t want to spiral into negativity here with you, my writing friends. Instead, how about you put some good words into the universe for us? Take just a moment and wish for something really good to happen. A sign for us to keep moving and keep doing good in the world.

I am taking a deep breath. That is what I am going to believe.

--

--

Teresa Ruiz Decker
The last $20K

Marketing and communications consultant for social good. #DiversityandInclusion #HigherEd #EconomicEmpowerment http://teresaruizdecker.com