2017 Work & Play hits: New faces, new places

This year’s work and personal pivots, in summary

Kate Pedroso
the last girl
4 min readDec 29, 2017

--

Changing work places after more than a decade of being in one specific industry has been this year’s main challenge. Thankfully, I have been blessed with new mentors and new friends who have been there since Day 1 to patiently guide me through the ropes and help me push myself further.

2017 has been a year full of shifts and pivots. This year, I moved jobs and ended relationships — perhaps the most crucial highlights of this year. This year, I rediscovered that I could actually start anew. I’ve always struggled about beginnings, especially when I have already been used to certain routines for so long. After all, I’m a creature of habit, and new things make me anxious, uncomfortable and nervous. But thanks to a strong support group of family, friends and new colleagues, I was able to survive the birth pangs of this new life.

2017 has also been a year of balance — stepping away from the news industry has allowed me to take weekends off and the occasional vacation despite having limited leaves, thanks to long weekends and holidays that I am now also finally enjoying for the first time, after over a decade of being in the workforce. These breaks have allowed me to recharge and take care of my mental health better. This doesn’t mean that I haven’t had occasional bouts with working after-hours or obsessively checking my work email; I’m still working at unplugging and sleeping without my phones at my bedside.

That said, here’s a rundown of my favorite experiences this year: From the Young Blood 6 launch in April to the family trip to Baguio in September, this year has brought me places and it’s been a great ride.

April: Young Blood 6 launch.

I was fortunate enough to be among the Young Blood contributors chosen to be included in the latest anthology of Young Blood columns. Young Blood 6 covers essays published from 2014–2015.

April: Coron with the Education team.

In April, I joined colleagues on my first out-of-town assignment in Coron, Palawan, for the turnover of portable education/technology bundles called School-in-a-Bag to far-flung, underserved and unelectrified public schools in the towns of Cabugao and Banuang Daan. Here’s a feature on that, and the video the digital team made

June. My brother’s graduation.

And just like that, my parents are now three-for-three. The pride we feel is inexplicable.

September. Baguio with the family.

We’ve always wanted to take a trip as a family, and we were finally able to do it in September, in time for Auntie and Wy’s birthday celebrations. We visited the BenCab museum and the PMA campus, among other things. Our Airbnb had an adorable dog!

At the BenCab Museum.

September. Smart Millenniors launch.

This year, I was able to work on a project that let me and my teammates educate senior citizens about technology. This is the first time I’m working on something for seniors — in the past, I’ve been particularly immersed in programs for elementary school-age children. We taught them about smartphones and mobile data, helped them register for Facebook, shared tips about staying safe online, avoiding scams and phishing attacks. At the end of it, we held simple graduation rites. One of my favorites this year.

2017 had its share of losses, but it also had its bright spots and gains. It also had many things to teach, and I’m grateful to the people who were the Universe’s instruments in imparting them.

What were your highlights for 2017? What were this year’s most important lessons for you? Feel free to share in the comments!

--

--

Kate Pedroso
the last girl

Writer from Manila. Work hard, play hard. Opinions are my own and not my employer's.