Reduce, Reuse, Recycle for a Zentastic Launch

Diana Hallare
The Launchism
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2015

A “zentastic launch” does not mean losing adrenaline, but rather avoiding burnout in the process of opening a business or releasing a product.

A “zentastic launch” does not guarantee you will become a millionaire overnight.

A “zentastic launch” does not mean perfection.

Recently, I have done 3 major things for the zentastic launch of the LAUNCH PAD (song + swag):
1. Read The Way of Serenity by Father Jonathan Morris
2. Took power naps in between
3. Joined the Small Product Lab challenge with Gumroad

I’ve learned lessons through books, blogs, and the bitter way. And I’m still learning.

One of the things I’m still learning is maintaining serenity. I feel I have gained some peace of mind — not necessarily as a happy-go-lucky or come-what-may kind of person, but more about my old mantra of “Reduce, reuse, recycle.”

For the past few years, I told people to reduce negativity, reuse positivity, and recycle with creativity. The Small Product Lab reminded me of these rules. Yet these could be stretched a bit further.

Reduce
- the immensity of the product:
*In the process, I learned how to use Gumroad, Canva, and other tools, plus the basic steps of a launch. “Keep it super simple.”
- perfectionism:
*Having a presentable page and a good product is important. Yet progress means delivering “great” by starting with “good enough” and polishing forward.
- word clutter:
*Succinctness is important for effectiveness.

Reuse
- lessons and techniques learned in the past
*My writing, songwriting, and editorial experiences helped me in this journey. I used shortcuts (from Ctrl+Z to solfege), delegation (collaboration with freelance artist, Laura Guzman, for instance), and the Serenity Prayer.
- positive attitude + gratitude + resourcefulness
*Being in the Small Product Lab cohort and similar groups, I gained social and entrepreneurial support, including mentorship. I motivated myself to move forward, thinking, “Yes, I can.” Furthermore, I recently started the morning and evening practice of a written or mental gratitude list.

Recycle
- the Golden Rule:
*For example, I enjoyed the reciprocation in reviewing my new friends’ works as part of the Small Product Lab challenge. This exercised my editorial skills. Furthermore, I began the #launchforgood campaign. This first launch was to help the Mother Teresa Rural Development Society (mtrds.org) to provide safer drinking water to villagers in India. My next launch is a book launch for books.

The bonus R?
Relax.

That’s the gist of zen and serenity, right? But that is also part of the challenge of a zentastic launch. So don’t feel guilty for your power naps or your belief in the saying, “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a (wo)man healthy, wealthy, and wise.”

After all, everyone needs to conserve the mind, one of the greatest assets of all.

--

--