The Product Hunt magic

Adit Gupta
The Launchism
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2016

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve probably heard about Product Hunt and the wonders it has done for the startup community — Not just for founders but also for tech enthusiasts and early adopters. I have discovered tons of productive and useful products through Product Hunt and I can’t be more thankful for that! Moreover, the community at PH is simply awesome! They’re not just friendly but also give good feedback for products. All these reasons were more than enough for me to launch my product on PH. And boy, did it do wonders! It became the rise and shine moment for my app.

How it happened?

The ideal way to be on PH is to have a hunter for your product. Unfortunately, that was not the case for me. So, I crossed my fingers and decided to hunt my own product. And it turned out to be really good!

UX Assist got featured on PH and debuted at No. 3 in tech. Soon, upvotes started flowing in and it became tough for me to hold on to my seat!

UX Assist also got featured as “Hot in Tech”! The PH effect soon kicked in.

There was a meteoric 700% rise in the number of downloads. It was quite something for a paid app in a relatively niche category. The app also made into top 50 paid productivity apps for over 25 countries!

No. 1 in Portugal and Poland

While it’s always nice to see a good number of downloads, the best part is getting connected to the community. I got a chance to interact with many designers and got invaluable feedback from them. While it’s important to have a good launch for your product, it’s even more crucial to sustain and scale it for a long time.

This is where Product Hunt becomes even more important for founders. With a vibrant community, you can always ensure that good networking can bring long lasting effects for the product.

So, how to get featured on Product Hunt? Though there’re quite a few articles on this topic, I would just stress on one thing — Make a quality product and delight your users. The rest will fall in place. And go through their FAQ.

PH did wonders for UX Assist. I can’t fathom what it will do when UX Assist arrives on Mac. ;)

Sneak Peek into UX Assist for Mac

I’ll just end this post with a customary cat gif. :)

Thank you Product Hunt!! :)

--

--