Open Water — my reset button

Open water swimming has been my hobby, my passion and my saviour in many respects for the last 5 years. Open water swimming or wild swimming, it is the practice of swimming in a natural body of water such as rivers, lakes and the sea.

Photo by author, Mel Chell

Wild swimming is becoming increasingly popular in the UK as its benefits become more widely known and published. There have been many studies undertaken that have proved beyond doubt that which we wild swimmers instinctively know, wild swimming has many health benefits including improvement of mental health.

I swim in the Nene (my local river) with a large group of 60 or so like-minded wild swimmers all year round in just my swimsuit. Before Covid, this weekly ritual was a wonderful sociable affair. Usually involving chats, warm hugs, hot tea and nearly always cake. We all wear signature pink swimming or bobble hats and hoodies which unites our swimmy tribe. Since lockdown, swimming has been in smaller groups or pairs but it is certainly no less enjoyable. Community in wild swimming is everything.

Photo by conor rabbett on Unsplash

I am often asked “why” and I am equally often called mad or crazy but I find it difficult to put into words just how incredible it feels. I stand on the river bank in a swimsuit, when the air temperature is minus 1 and the water is 3 degrees and contemplate taking off warm layers and voluntarily getting into the freezing water. I always question my own sanity and inevitably try and talk myself out of it, but once I quiet the doubting voices in my head and slowly enter the water, I feel a huge rush of adrenaline as the cold water begins to do its work. I feel brave and strong and resilient and like I could take on anything in the world. Swimming in open water is incredibly invigorating. Here are some of the proven mental health benefits as I see them (note I am not an expert):-

It’s a mindful practice

As a busy lawyer who spends a lot of time sat at a desk in front of a screen, swimming is one of the only things I do which can honestly quiet my very busy mind. Whilst swimming I am focused on my breathing. Breathing too fast through the mouth can cause dizziness and so with each stroke I focus on regulating my breathing. I notice bubbles and ripples in the water and I am closely focused on my body’s reaction to the cold water. It is one of the rare times that I am absolutely and completely present in the moment. It feels as though I have a total affiliation with the water.

It reduces stress

People often talk of the “cold water shock response” which causes gasping, raised heat rate and release of stress hormones and adrenaline. Studies have shown that repeated cold water immersion allows you to acclimatise and therefore reduce the cold response and the release of stress hormones. In turn, this makes you less reactive to everyday stress and far more resilient.

It makes you feel euphoric

I know you are thinking how on earth can immersion in freezing cold water possibly do this? A study in 2000 found that cold water immersion can increase dopamine levels by 530%! This explain why shortly after starting my swim, myself and my swim buddy always end up grinning inanely at each other and laughing/whooping. There is a natural high that comes from the release of dopamine and it is a mood boost that lasts for hours!

You feel at one with nature

I am certain that being outside and in the water makes me feel peaceful and calm. It is hard to describe how beautiful it can be to swim serenely in an amazing body of water and watch a fish jump in front of you or see a red kite swoop down to fish or calmly swim alongside a majestic swan and its signets. It is truly magical and spending time in nature is now known to significantly improve your mood.

Photo by Thomas Dils on Unsplash

I absolutely recommend that anyone who wants to try open water swimming checks social media for local groups. They are always welcoming and will pass on safety tips and help to build your confidence in the water. Never swim alone or in a body of water that you do not know.

For me, there is no better exercise than open water swimming. It is a great way to boost your mental health, fitness, meet people and it’s totally free! However, be warned, it is addictive and if you try it once you will almost certainly be hooked.

--

--