A Small Town Is Holding Its Residents Hostage

Why Is America Like This?

Lilith Helstrom
The Left Is Right

--

Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

The year 2020 was one of the worst years of my life. Obviously, there was the pandemic, but there were also other problems.

I was quarantining with my abusive Mom and she was making my life miserable. My mobility issues were at an all time low. One of my new puppies refused to sleep through the night. Her tantrums made my migraines so much worse.

Also, there were a lot of protests happening in my town. I understood why they were happening and supported the protesters, but it also made life harder.

My whole city was under a curfew for a few weeks. We kept getting emergency alerts about when we had to be in our house at night. We could drive around, but we weren’t allowed to be on foot anywhere.

We had to make sure to walk our dogs before curfew. All the grocery shopping had to be done. Even though we could technically still drive places, which I loved to do during the pandemic, so I felt less suffocated, we still tried to not leave the house during that time.

As horrible as all of that was, it is still nothing compared to what is happening right now in the small town of Eudora, Arkansas.

It all started because there were two shootings in Eudora. For a town of just over two…

--

--

Lilith Helstrom
The Left Is Right

I talk about religion, sex, emotions, and life. Whatever I happen to be thinking about that I think might be interesting. Top Writer in multiple categories.