Glass Ceiling — NaPoWriMo Day 21

Urvi Talaty
The Leisure Blog: NaPoWriMo 2020
2 min readApr 29, 2020

In the flood indoors all I see is

glass broken

in probably all urgency or grief

but the cannon

wanders wild in the last little time

dregs

that I will behead before you can

stop me

I cannot, will not veer left without the

limp love in the lazy night

some say I am the daydream that will

also end, golden yet broken I

can

imagine the cannon breaking the glass

ceiling

Poet’s note: NaPoWriMo Day 21! The challenge was to find a poem in a language that I don’t know, and perform a “homophonic translation” on it, which means to try to translate the poem simply based on how it sounds. I chose a Dutch poem called ‘A dull thud every time it hits the glass’ by Kira Wuck. The original poem is below!

Een dof geluid iedere keer als hij het glas raakt

een mot probeert al uren tevergeefs buiten te komen

wanneer wilde ik voor het laatst iets zo graag

dat ik er beschadigd door zou kunnen raken

ik ken wel het verlangen waar je

kramp van in je liezen krijgt

soms zie ik de dingen die ik hebben wil

als een vloedgolf die het land bedekken kan

om erbij te kunnen moet ik eerst verdrinken

--

--

Urvi Talaty
The Leisure Blog: NaPoWriMo 2020

Urvi is a chemical engineer & manager and is an environmental management student at Yale University. She is a Resolution Fellow & a founder of Mission SanScar.