I Don’t Remember — NaPoWriMo Day 14

Urvi Talaty
The Leisure Blog: NaPoWriMo 2020
1 min readApr 16, 2020

I don’t quite remember the exact moment when it all started.

Of course, I wasn’t really keeping track of time as it passed me by.

But somehow, somewhere, in the time between kid school and grad school,

I learnt to appreciate the beauty of the daffodils and take time in this life full of care to stand and stare.

I went on grand adventures where two roads diverged in a wood and remembered that I had miles to go before I sleep.

I know now how to keep my head when all about me are losing theirs,

I know now how to slay the Jabberwock and say still I rise.

And I know now not to waste my sweetness in the desert air.

As I walk and run in the shadow of giants and fly with the wings of Poesy,

As I go not gentle into that good night and admire the fearful symmetry of the Tyger,

As I thrive on the stage of this world and live the seven ages of man,

I still don’t quite remember how it happened.

But I’m glad it did!

Poet’s Note: NaPoWriMo Day 14! The challenge was to write a poem that deals with the poems, poets, and other people who inspired me to write poems. So here they are! Do you get all the references?

--

--

Urvi Talaty
The Leisure Blog: NaPoWriMo 2020

Urvi is a chemical engineer & manager and is an environmental management student at Yale University. She is a Resolution Fellow & a founder of Mission SanScar.