Speak To Me — NaPoWriMo Day 15

Urvi Talaty
The Leisure Blog: NaPoWriMo 2020
1 min readApr 29, 2020

Does one play favorites

Among their own children?

Maybe some do.

But how can I choose

When all music-

Is music to my ears?

The sounds that speak to me,

Whisper to me, challenge me,

Move me, freeze me in time

And space and make my heart

And my mind gallop!

The voices that sing to me,

The vibes that ring out,

Speak of my joy and my passion

And of pain and the seasons.

They’re companions of the lonely

And champions of the broken.

There’s power in music

Love and hate too,

There’s uncertainty in music

And surety too.

There’s frustration in music

But there’s feeling too.

Poet’s note: The prompt for day 15 of NaPoWriMo was to write a poem inspired by my favorite kind of music. As it turns out, all music is music to my ears!

--

--

Urvi Talaty
The Leisure Blog: NaPoWriMo 2020

Urvi is a chemical engineer & manager and is an environmental management student at Yale University. She is a Resolution Fellow & a founder of Mission SanScar.