How to Start Your Day Off Right With or Without A Smile

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement
3 min readMar 16, 2020

Start the day off right and end it the same way. -Uknown

No no no, stop. You got it all wrong.

You don’t have to run to Walmart and buy more coffee. You don’t have to sleep with buzz light year next to you so you wake up super jacked. None of that goofy stuff.

Let me peel back the curtain for you and show you what it took for me to be happier living my days.

You see,

After my personal experience with trying to fake it till I made it by smiling, I found myself never making it. It just felt like I was moving further and further away from having a day where I could be happy doing the things I couldn’t escape.

I kept breaking myself trying to start my day without a real reason to. And it’s too bad I’m not the alone in this experience. Many people face this challenge each morning and want to discover the way to be happy for just the next 24 hours. Maybe a lot like you, it feels like I wake up some days and it’s the world against me and my mind. If you compare the size of the earth to the size of your brain that can make you feel terrified like it does me.

I wrote you a short passage that gives you the exact scenario that helped me change how I start my days.

I hope this helps.

It was a Saturday evening around 7:14 pm and I had just clocked out of work.

It had been one of those days that made your 8-hour shift feel like 12. It had been the worst one of my life. I wanted to reset and try again. Everything felt misplaced. I was pulling my hair out on the way home, speeding and cutting people off.

When I arrived home, I pulled off my dress pants and shoes immediately because my room felt like an oven. Everything changed as soon as I changed the thermostat.

You see,

But there’s a lot of people, including myself, guilty of waking up and being a thermometer. When you act like a thermometer, you asses your current environment and succumb to it. Whatever the temperature is, you measure it and adapt. You can’t change anything. It’s not in your ability as a thermometer.

Photo by Timo Müller on Unsplash

However, with a thermostat, you assess the environment around you and you set it to where your environment works in a way so that you achieve your goals. This gives you the ability to foresee your future by setting the atmosphere you need to be in according to the goals you want to accomplish.

I had a bad day.

It wasn’t anyone else’s fault but my own. If I had maybe woken up and set the tone, temperature, call it anything that makes sense, the rest of the day would have been different. Let’s say I woke up and wrote my goals down. I went over some words of affirmation. And then perhaps I would have gotten a little workout in so completely wake up.

Maybe that day would have been better. I could have shown up to work a lot earlier and accomplished more. The day would have been more productive for me.

There is no turnkey solution for becoming more effective as human beings but there are opportunities we can give ourselves to give us a headstart.

What do you think?

Christian

--

--

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world