I Took the Navy Physical Screening Test, Here’s How It Went

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement
4 min readJun 19, 2020

A short preface

Yes, you see that right.

I’m on my way up with the pull-up in the picture, my face is tight, and I feel like my stomach’s about to explode.

After I did 10 pull-ups, I walked to the water fountain, filled up my stomach, and then headed towards a treadmill.

It was time for the 3-mile run… without a timer.

If you’ve ever had to run at your own pace without a time limit, you know the feeling I’m talking about. You can run as fast as you want. Or slow.

I spend a lot of time in the gym. And some days were harder than others.

Making time and eliminating excuses is still an obstacle I face daily.

My goal to become a Navy SEAL and serve my country comes from many reasons. The biggest one is to challenge myself in a way I’ve never been challenged before and build the character and development I need to provide for my family one day.

Just 2 days ago, I drove 2 and a half hours North to take this PST. The scores determine my eligibility to be chosen for a SEAL contract.

They had us swim right away. I completed, failed the swim test. By the time I finished my 6th lap, everyone else there was finished. I noticed that, but I kept swimming and trying to catch my breath.

Afterward, we got a 10-minute break, and I have to tell you I was utterly shocked they hadn’t kicked me out yet. I wasn’t in as good as shape as everyone else, but one thing is for sure, I wasn’t going to quit.

And I was prepared to show up and go up.

The pushup, situp, and pull-up test were harder for me to do after the swim.

Everyone there is drinking water from their water bottles. I forgot mine. But I didn’t forget to drink coffee on the drive that morning.

What do you think happened next?

You guessed it.

I rush to the bathroom, I give up my Panera coffee with sugar and cream. I hated the feeling in my legs. And I could barely feel my feet. Every part of my body and the muscles on it felt weak. And so did I.

I left the bathroom thinking about my decision to join the Navy Special Warfare Operations program… but I didn’t overthink it.

You see,

I made a commitment to myself, my future, and the family I have back at home. And it was easy to commit.

“Commitment is doing the thing you said you would do long after the mood you said it in has left you.”

That’s what keeps me glued to my goal.

Understanding that when you’re moving through the valley’s seeking your way to the top of the mountain, you’re going to FEEL differently. And how you act on those emotions make all the difference.

Did I want to quit? Sure, your body tells you that because it’s programmed to cut out anything that makes you uncomfortable.

But I didn’t sign a contract, swear an oath, or work out every day to quit. It takes a lot more to break me.

So when we were told to run the 1.5-mile run, I made sure no matter what pace I completed that I would finish. I came in last, but I learned a lot about myself. By lap 5 out of 10, I didn’t think I could keep running. It felt like I was running inside a sauna — perhaps because I was dehydrated.

And 5 laps later, I completed the PST.

My Thoughts After

I stopped by the gas station on the way home and bought Gatorade and water bottles — the smart thing to do before working out like that. I know, my girlfriend already told me.

And driving 2 and a half hours gave me some time to think about everything that happened earlier.

I couldn’t wait for the next test.

I told myself I’d come home and continue training.

I wanted to be better more than I wanted to think about giving up.

I was super excited, and I thought everything about the experience was pretty fun.

I thought about the positive consequences of pressing forward with this new commitment of mine.

I started to think about how much my life would begin to change and transform, including those around me.

But…

Above all things, I am super grateful.

It was rough. But at the end of the day, I know what I want.

They say when you know who you are, you’ll know what to do. And if you still don’t know what to do, then everything you do in life is just an experiment, the experience comes after.

Warm wishes,

Christian Sotero

--

--

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world