One Way I Found To Stay Happy Each Day

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement
3 min readMar 16, 2020

Without changing what I wear, eat, or how often I sleep

The sun still wasn’t up.

… it was 2:04 am.

If you’re a coffee drinker, you know that rich, morning coffee smell that fills your room and your nostrils. So I started journaling and I got 2000 words in…

…And then I close my eyes and remembered something.

I could see the sun coming out from the distant horizon above the sea. I could hear the birds chirping at one another then taking off into the sky. I saw couples holding hands as they walked down the sand and let the waves touch their feet. I saw the palm trees bend and twist with the small breeze that came with the water. I tied my robe around my waist and walked back inside my hotel to brew coffee. It was the only sound I could hear as my eyes captured the scene in front of me. And I was at peace with myself.

And then I opened my eyes again.

It was my favorite moment I ever experienced. One that has never left me.

Maybe a lot like you,

I was always trying to figure out a way to go back in time and do it all over again. Chasing those moments where everything feels okay. When your mind can sit still and not jump all over the place. Being at peace with who you are, where you are at, and what you are doing.

Being happy.

Experiencing so many moments like that gave me the opportunity to explore why I was so attracted to them. Why is it I don’t feel happy at home like I do 22 hours away on the beach? Why isn’t this as easy as flipping a switch like is it smile? What was I missing?

It dawned on me because it was mentally exhausting trying to put it all together.

And then it hit me like a freight train one night as I was documenting the story of my life. (the reason I love writing is because it often opens you to new ways of thinking)

The Discovery That Made Me Emotionally Wealthy

Every moment I was at peace with myself and happy, I was not thinking about the issues and problems back at home with school, work, relationships, etc.

Focus on your five sense

My sole focus was on everything I was doing at the moment. In order to maximize living in the present, I found that using our five senses with intention will keep you grounded and focused on the present, not the past or the future.

What You Can Do Starting Today

Where you go, whatever you do and however long you do it, focus on your five senses.

This is easier said than done so let me show you what I do.

When I open my laptop to start writing, I take a moment and slide my fingers across the keyboard to release any tension in my hands. Then, I make sure my feet are in a comfortable position so there’s no tension there either.

Next, I look around my desk space to make sure it is clean and clear to avoid distractions. And I wear something soft like a hoodie that protects my neck and that relaxes my entire body and puts me at peace with myself.

I end up publishing stories I never foresaw myself writing in the first place.

It’s one of the best feelings ever.

Try it.

I want to know what you do to keep happy each day, even if it’s just for a moment. Please share what you do in the comments. I’d appreciate any more advice or feedback from you.

Sincerely,

Christian

--

--

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world