The Tools I Use That Make Writing Easy

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement
2 min readMar 16, 2020

You found this because you are seeking new information and resources that you believe will help you write better. I want to help and encourage you, first of all, to keep doing what you’re doing.

I wore the same shoes you are in.

I, too, sat behind a desk with a blank sheet in front of me, wondering where to start writing. And more often than not, I found myself stuck in an endless circle of inactivity. It’s why I firmly believe with the right tools, we can create new ideas and better written stories for the people that count on us.

I started writing two years ago. In my first year, I didn’t publish a word. Last year I started using these tools that keep making writing easy for me. I discovered confidence in writing I never saw before.

Here are the tools I use:

Grammarly

I was super hesitant to use Grammarly. It wasn’t until I noticed the positive reviews thousands of people were writing about this tool. I took it upon myself and didn’t regret it since. Grammarly doesn’t just tell you where commas go; instead, it makes suggestions about the tone in your writing and the words you use. I use this each time I write on Medium, no doubt about it.

Hemingway Editor

Hemingway is a free online editor that keeps your work bold and bright. It says it on their website. Just copy and paste your words, and it does the rest for you. I still struggle writing wordy rough drafts from time to time. Hemingway keeps me clear.

Penzu

If you’re someone who likes to journal, this is a safe and secure place to write what’s personal to you. I write here every day, and it helps me stay consistent with my writing habit. It’s the first tab on my browser.

And just like that, you have access to the tools impactful writers use. Now we have something in common with them. That is, of course, what we know and what we have in our toolbox. You see, we aren’t much different than them. The fact is we haven’t practiced enough.

As you discover more powerful ways to write, never let go of your writing style. That belongs to you only.

If you follow me, I likely follow you, so I look forward to reading your work.

Christian

--

--

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world