This Simple Concept Helped Me Find Happiness In Relationships

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement
3 min readMar 1, 2020

Friends are precious pieces of our lives. Once you’ve had them, it becomes harder and harder to live without them. You see, friends aren’t purposed to entertain you solely. They are present for a thousand more reasons. Today I am focusing on just one.

Value.

You may be familiar with that word. The truth is value is a golden element we are better off having inside our relationships with people. Understanding how much value we can receive from someone because we share networks helps you maintain a positive image of them too.

A different question you can ask yourself

“How can I give value to my friends?”

It could be as simple as a book recommendation. It could be a referral to their business. Whatever it many, take the time to see how you can positively influence someone else’s life so you can help them reach their goals.

Most of us are pretty satisfied with our friends. We genuinely love spending time with those people, and we are happiest. But what we fail to realize is how much influence these people have on our lives. If you’re like me and carry your goals in the forefront of your mind, you are conscious of this concept of relationships. You understand the influence and atmosphere go together. You want to most effective people around your circle that provide you with so much value you automatically become a better human because of that influence. Just as worth as it is to receive value, it’s important to give it back multifold.

You want people to keep you around as well. People that you know without them, your life wouldn’t be the same. People that you can advise, counsel, or even guide on something that saves them time, energy, and effort in certain areas of their life. You can have this expectation through the struggles in your relationships. Value helps us see the meaning behind keeping a relationship with someone we want to hold near us.

But wait, it gets better.

One piece of advice that keeps me joyful is reminding myself that I can learn something from everyone. And it isn’t always easy. With an attitude like this, a lot of good beings to arise from our lives.

Don’t do what I did

I think I end up pouring more into those who have a lid on their jar than the people who are continually seeking to be mentored, to be helped or guided. At this point in my life, I am not where I want to be. But I am grateful for being where I wasn’t an entire year ago. Let’s say I happened to sleep and eat under my mom’s house, and I lived with spiders, roaches, and colorful centipedes for a year. I was always cold and never warm. Fast-forwarding to today, I live in my apartment that overlooks the city I grew up in and the Mississippi River. Yes, it is warm. No, there are no more bugs in my living space. Also, I’ve created a lot of good relationships with people this year.

A recommendation for you

If you want more friends and want people to hold you closer to their hearts because of how you treat them, read “How to Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie. An American writer who knew people like the back of his hand. He has a knack for them. He had a heart for others. And I believe that with the right ideas and purposes in mind, all of us a heart for people somewhere in it. We have to dig.

--

--

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world